## **Umatilla National Forest Ranger Roll Call**

**History** – Umatilla National Forest is located in northeastern Oregon and southeastern Washington and contains about 1.4 million acres. It was created from all, or parts, of four National Forests: Heppner along with portions of Blue Mountains, Wenaha, and a portion of the Whitman National Forests. The Heppner NF became a part of the Umatilla in 1908, and the Wenaha NF became a part of the Umatilla in 1920. Umatilla is a term meaning "water rippling over sand" to native peoples in the Pacific Northwest. U.S. explorers Lewis and Clark explored the area in 1805.

As of 2021, this National Forest is divided into four ranger districts: Heppner, North Fork John Day, Pomeroy, and Walla Walla.

#### Heppner Ranger District - Heppner, OR

[Originally part of the Heppner NF]

Ranger's Names Unknown	1906 - 1919
C. L. Keithley	1920 - 1924
John G. Clouster	1924 - 1926
George Clark	1926 - 1928
F. F. Wehmeyer	1931 - 1945
Glenn Parsons	1950 - 1950
Wayne W. West	1954 - 1957
Victor L. Kreimeyer	1961 - 1961
Warren S. Miller	1961 - 1977
Ben G. Siminoe	1978 - 1987
Roger Williams	1988 - 1991
Delanne Ferguson	1992 - 1999
Andrei Rykoff	2000 - 2004
Thomas Mafera	2005 - 2009
Todd D. Buchholz	2009 - 2013
Ann M. Niesen	2013 - 2017
Brandon Houck	2018 - 2021
Doug McKay	2021 – Present

## Meacham Ranger District – La Grande, OR (1912 to 1947)

[Originally the Meacham Ranger District on the Whitman NF. In 1947 the south half of the Ranger District became part of the La Grande Ranger District on the Whitman NF, and the north half became the Pendleton Ranger District on the Umatilla NF.]

Elmer Thomas	1912 - 1915
R. A. Bottcher	1915 - 1920
F. W. Kendall	1920 - 1925
G. Brace	1925 - 1925
Gerald J. Tucker	1925 - 1939
H. C. Chriswell	1939 - 1942
G. C. Charlton	1942 - 1947

## North Fork John Day Ranger District - Ukiah, OR

## Dale Ranger District (1909 - 1984)

[Originally the Desolation Ranger District on the Whitman National Forest. In 1947 it became a part of the Umatilla NF. In 1984 the Dale Ranger District merged with the Ukiah Ranger District to become the North Fork John Day RD.]

Avery E. Berry	1948 - 1958
W. S. Miller	1959 - 1959
Jimmy R. Wilkins	1960 - 1963
Richard J. Pfilf	1963 - 1966
John W. "Bill" Lowery	1966 - 1973
James A. Shelhaas	1973 - 1976
David W. Dahl	1976 - 1978
Norman "Bruce" Kauffman	1978 - 1981
Janet Wold	1981 - 1984

#### Ukiah Ranger District (1910 - 1984)

[The Ukiah Ranger District merged with the Dale Ranger District in 1984 to become the North Fork John Day Ranger District

Walt Allison	1910 - 1928
Carol Harris	1928 - 1930
Rube Butler	1930 - 1947
Fenton G. Whitney	1947 - 1966
Glen Baker	1967 - 1976
Bob Bryant	1976 - 1977
F. David Price	1977 – 1984

## North Fork John Day Ranger District (1984 - Present)

Craig Smith Dixon	1984 - 2008
Robert Varner	2009 - 2013
Ian Reid	2014 - 2017
Paula Guenther	2018 - 2021
Stephaney Kerley	2021 - 2023

## Pendleton Ranger District - Pendleton, OR (1947 - 1978)

[Originally part of the Meacham RD on the Whitman NF. In 1978 the Pendleton Ranger District was established on the Umatilla NF.]

Gerald J. Tucker	1947 - 1950
Joseph O. Gjertson	1950 - 1957
V. Jay Hughes	1958 – 1961
Frank G. Dougherty	1961 - 1966
Walter J. Johnson	1967 - 1969
Edward C. Osmond Jr.	1970 – 1972
Richard M. Lemmon	1973 - 1979

## Pomeroy District - Pomeroy, WA

Asotin Ranger District - Wenaha National Forest - Pomeroy, WA

William H. Kendall	1908 - 1909
Al Jeffreys	1910 - 1911
Elmer Thomas	1912 – 1912
Albert Baker	1913 - 1920

Asotin Ranger District - Umatilla National Forest - Pomeroy, WA

920 - 1926
926 - 1926
927 - 1930
931 - 1938
939 - 1945

Pomeroy Ranger District - Pomeroy, WA

Emil Johnson	1946 - 1952
Fairbeorn W. Armstrong	1953 - 1957
Robert J. DeWitz	1958 - 1958
Jack H. Usher	1959 - 1961
Irving Smith	1962 - 1968
Bruce E. Egger	1968 - 1979
Ben E. Cottman	1979 - 1986
F, David Price	1984 - 1997
Monte Fujishin	1997 - 2020
Susan Piper	2020 - Present

## Touchet Ranger District (1908 - 1946)

[Originally a part of the Wenaha National Forest]

Ranger's Names Unknown	1908 - 1923
William H. Kendall	1923 - 1928
F.F. Wehmeyer	1928 - 1931
Avery E. Berry	1931 - 1934
Eugene Rogers	1934 - 1936
Keith H. McCool	1936 - 1941
Lee E. Blevins	1941 - 1946

Walla Walla District – Walla Walla, WA {Originally part of the Wenaha National Forest]

William H. Kendall	1920 - 1923
Charles F. Groom	1923 - 1923
Albert Baker	1925 - 1941
Henry Harrison	1941 - 1943
Willis Ward	1943 - 1951
Homer Oft	1951 - 1963
Jimmy Wilkins	1963 - 1966
Richard J. Pfilf	1966 - 1967
George Berschied	1968 - 1973
Gary Flanick	1973 - 1984
Ralph Perkins	1984 - 1991
Tom Reilly	1991 - 2000
Mary Gibson	2000 - 2007
Mike Rassbach	2007 - 2020
Aaron Gagnon	2020 - Present

# Forest Supervisors Umatilla National Forest

## and

## Supervisors for the Heppner and Wenaha National Forests that were incorporated into the Umatilla

[When the Umatilla NF was established in 1908 it incorporated the entire Heppner NF. The Supervisor's office for the Umatilla remained in Heppner, OR until it was moved to Pendleton, OR in 1915.]

Heppner National Fore [Incorporated into Umatilla		Wenaha National F [Incorporated into Um	
Thomas E. Chidsey	1907 - 1908	J. M. Schmitz L. E. McDaniels John C. Kuhns	1905 - 1918 1918 - 1918 1919 - 1920

## **Umatilla National Forest**

1908 - 1911
1911 - 1912
1912 - 1920
1920 - 1924
1924 - 1937
1937 - 1937
1937 - 1950
1951 - 1961
1961 - 1969
1969 - 1980
1981 - 1985
1986 - 1990
1991 - 2005
2005 - 2015
2015 - 2017
2018 – Present